Top XYZ Secret Florida Firearm Laws You Never Knew Existed!Andy
Share this blog to let people know the TRUTH about Florida Gun laws!
As lawful gun owners, it’s our responsibility to understand the law of the land.
As Floridians, we hold some special privileges and protections that aren’t widely known. The first step to protecting our rights is to understand them.
These laws and protections only apply to Florida – so if you’re reading this blog from elsewhere, it’s time to move! We have a realtor on staff ready to assist you.
Unknown Florida Gun Law #XYZ: You are legally allowed to OPEN CARRY under limited circumstances. And you should!
According to Florida Statute 790.25 3(h,j), you may open carry your firearm while:
- Traveling to or from
- Traveling to or from a shooting range
To be clear, you may OPEN CARRY a firearm in the state of Florida while hunting, fishing, camping, or traveling to or from such activities.
If you are lawfully in possession of this firearm [over 18 and have not lost your firearm rights] then you are lawfully allowed to open carry while engaged in these activities, or traveling to or from.
This does NOT mean you’re allowed to CONCEALED CARRY. The firearm must be open and exposed – and cannot be hidden from plain view.
We used this little known law OPEN CARRY LAW to hold TWO open carry marches in Inverness!
Sign up to be notified about the next OPEN CARRY MARCH!
Don’t miss the next OPEN CARRY MARCH! Sign up below!
Unknown Florida Gun Law #XYZ: All lawful citizens may carry a concealed firearm with (or without!) a license to carry during a mandatory evacuation
You ARE allowed to conceal a firearm without a license to carry if the following conditions are true:
- You can legally own and posses a firearm (18 years old for BOTH handguns and rifles)
- You are “in the act of evacuating during a mandatory evacuation order issued during a state of emergency declared by the Governor, or declared by a local authority
Voluntary evacuation, or urging, does not fall within this law.
What does “in the act of evacuating” actually mean?
The State of Florida defines “in the act of evacuating” as:
- The immediate and urgent movement of a person away from the evacuation zone within 48 hours after a mandatory evacuation is ordered.
- The 48 hours may be extended by an order issued by 40 the Governor.
Unknown Florida Gun Law #XYZ: There is NO “3-Step-Rule” to Carrying a Gun (Without a License)
Even cops will tell you that in order to carry a gun in your car in Florida, the gun must be “3 Steps Away.”
This is not true. It never has been true. It never will be true.
It’s a horrible rumor like the idea that Daddy Long Legs are the deadliest spider on the planet (nope!) or that Love Bugs were created by the University of Florida (nope!).
Florida Statute 790.25 (5) allows for any lawful person who is 18 years of age to:
“to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purpose within the interior of a private conveyance, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use.”
Case law (which is when a person gets arrested and a judge decides what the law means) defines what it means to be “securely encased” and “not readily accessible.”
Your (loaded or unloaded) firearm must be in a compartment that:
- Is permanently attached to the vehicle
- Has a lid that shuts (does not need to lock or to be locked!)
So yes, you can have it without a license in your motorcycle, ATV, boat, or other private conveyance as long as it has those features.
Unknown Florida Gun Law #XYZ: Florida DESTROYS your info after you pass a background check!
According to Florida statute 790.065(4)(a), any information received by the Department of Law Enforcement shall be confidential and may not be disclosed by the Department of Law Enforcement to any person or other agency.
More importantly, any records received shall be destroyed within 38 hours after the Department of Law Enforcement conducts your background check.
Count yourself lucky to be a Floridian.
Florida state statute 790.065 can be summed up like this: Gun registration in the state of Florida does not, and CAN NOT EVER exist.
So, the idea that this gun is on “Lucy’s name” or “Eric’s” name does not exist.
When you buy a gun from a Federal Firearms Licensed dealer like Florida Gun Supply, we do a 4473 background check on you. That means that we call the state of Florida and make sure the person is not an ax-murderer before we sell them a gun.
48 hours after your information gets sent to the state of Florida, per Florida law, your information is purged from the system entirely.
Neither the state nor federal government has any record of your firearm purchase.
Unknown Florida Gun Law #XYZ: Florida protects your privacy – even from COPS!
Leave a Reply