Concealed Carry During Emergency: SB290 EXPLAINED
Don’t get caught without a gun… or without knowing the law during Hurricane Matthew!
A ton of people have been asking about whether or not they can carry a firearm during a mandatory evacuation or state of emergency.
This is our clarification on the law – but if you feel like reading lawyerese, here’s the link to the full text of the law.
All lawful citizens may carry a concealed firearm with (or without!) a license to carry during a mandatory evacuation
So, you ARE allowed to conceal a firearm without a license to carry if the following conditions are true:
- You can legally own and posses a firearm (18 years old for BOTH handguns and rifles)
- You are “in the act of evacuating during a mandatory evacuation order issued during a state of emergency declared by the Governor, or declared by a local authority
Voluntary evacuation, or urging, does not fall within this law.
What does “in the act of evacuating” actually mean?
The State of Florida defines “in the act of evacuating” as:
- The immediate and urgent movement of a person away from the evacuation zone within 48 hours after a mandatory evacuation is ordered.
- The 48 hours may be extended by an order issued by 40 the Governor.
IMPORTANT: Remember the 3 Rules, follow the law!
Don’t be the reason that Florida changes a perfectly good law: do NOT get in the news because you accidentally fire a round into your leg (or another person!) while holstering your concealed carry firearm.
Remember the 3 Rules of Safe Gun Handling:
- ALWAYS keep the gun pointed in a safe direction.
- ALWAYS keep your finger off the trigger until ready to shoot.
- ALWAYS keep the gun unloaded until ready to use.
This law allows you to carry – but it does NOT allow you to use the firearm in an unlawful way. You cannot use your firearm unless you (or another human) is in fear of death or serious bodily injury. Forget about “stand your ground” – and use your head.
Florida Counties that are under MANDATORY evacuations (as of 3:18PM EST 10/6/2016)
Palm Beach County: Voluntary evacuations have already started. Mandatory evacuations are beginning Thursday.
Broward County: Voluntary evacuations for mobile homes and low-lying areas have begun.
St. Johns County: Mandatory evacuations begin at 6 a.m. Thursday for barrier islands and low-lying areas.
Duval County: Voluntary evacuations have started for Jacksonville Beach, Atlantic Beach and Neptune Beach.
Brevard County: Mandatory evacuations for barrier islands.
St. Lucie County: Voluntary evacuations have already started. Mandatory evacuations will begin Thursday.
Flagler County: Voluntary evacuations have already started.
Indian River County: Voluntary evacuations have started for barrier islands. Mandatory evacuations begin Thursday for barrier islands, mobile and manufactured homes and low-lying areas.
Martin County: Mandatory evacuations are in effect for Sewall’s Point, Hutchinson Island, Jupiter Island and mobile homes.
Miami-Dade County: Voluntary evacuations are in effect for mobile homes.
Nassau County: Mandatory evacuations begin at 6 a.m. Thursday for beaches and coastal areas.
Volusia County: Voluntary evacuations of barrier islands Wednesday. Mandatory evacuations begin Thursday.
If you don’t have your concealed carry permit yet, you really need to get on that. Stop putting it off and get signed up TODAY!